Open Data Service, University of Southampton

Open Data Service


Tuesday 29th November 2022, 8:00pm

Schubert Piano Sonata No 7 in E flat, D568

Schubert Piano Sonata No 14 in A minor, D784
Schubert Piano Sonata No 17 in D, D850

‘Lewis is one of the great Schubertians of our time.’ Gramophone

20 years on from his first survey of Schubert at Turner Sims, Paul Lewis begins a four concert series exploring the composer’s piano sonatas.

Paul Lewis is one of the leading musicians of his generation. His studies of piano works by Beethoven and Schubert have received worldwide critical and public praise.

Tonight opens with the E flat sonata left in unfinished form in D flat in 1817, then transposed, revised and completed by the composer around 1826. The A minor work dates from 1823, while the D major piece, sometimes called the ‘Gasteiner’ Sonata, was composed in the Austrian spa town of Bad Gastein in 1825. It would be the only one of the three works this evening to achieve publication in Schubert’s lifetime.


Organised by:
Location:Turner Sims Concert Hall
Turner Sims

Get the Data

If you're that way inclined, you can get the raw data used to create this page in various formats, as listed below.

TTLRDF/Turtle file
RDF.HTMLHTML visualisation of raw data

The following open datasets were used to build this page:

Events Diary