Open Data Service, University of Southampton

Open Data Service


Tuesday 5th April 2022, 7:30pm

The Marian Consort

directed by Rory McCleery

Heinrich Schütz Musikalische Exequien
Attributed Johann Bach Weint nicht um meinen tod
Johann Christoph Bach Lieber Herr Gott, wekke uns auf
Johann Michael Bach Herr, ich warte auf dein Heil
Johann Ludwig Bach Das blut Jesu Christi
Johann Sebastian Bach Komm, Jesu, komm BWV 229
Johann Sebastian Bach Ich lasse dich nicht BWV Anh. 159

Motets by JS Bach and his family frame this programme of sublime German baroque works performed by the intimate forces of The Marian Consort. This is music of yearning and intense pathos to cleanse and uplift the soul. The heart of the programme is Heinrich Schütz’s astonishing Musikalische Exequien. Written at the height of the Thirty Years’ War, a conflict which decimated much of German-speaking Europe and left more than eight million people dead or displaced, this intensely human requiem combines the austere ritual of ancient chant with all of the colour, urgency and energy of baroque solo singing.


Organised by:
Location:Turner Sims Concert Hall
Turner Sims

Get the Data

If you're that way inclined, you can get the raw data used to create this page in various formats, as listed below.

TTLRDF/Turtle file
RDF.HTMLHTML visualisation of raw data

The following open datasets were used to build this page:

Events Diary