Open Data Service, University of Southampton

Open Data Service


Tuesday 20th September 2022, 7:30pm

Mozart Quintet for piano and winds, K452

Mozart Horn Quintet in E flat, K407
Brahms Horn Trio in E flat, Op 40

A magical evening of chamber music.

Felix Klieser, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra’s Artist in Residence, is joined by pianist Danny Driver and principals of the orchestra.

Mozart composed his quintet for for piano, horn, oboe, clarinet and bassoon in 1784, a year in which he wrote six piano concertos. Mozart played piano for the first performance and wrote to his father afterwards that it was ‘…the best thing I have written so far in my life.’ Mozart’s Horn Quintet is scored for an unusual string combination including two violas. This gives it a deeper sonority than that of a regular string quartet. Full of gentle, amiable music, it has been compared to a miniature horn concerto: the horn frequently given a starring role.

Brahms’ Trio is regarded as one of his greatest chamber works. The instrumental combination (piano, horn, and violin) was almost unheard of before he wrote for it. Noble, with a hint of melancholy and mystery, it makes for a multi-faceted rather than a one-dimensional experience.

One of the most inspiring figures on the concert scene today. The Times on Felix Klieser

It would be impossible to overestimate Driver’s impeccable technique and musicianship. Gramophone


Organised by:
Location:Turner Sims Concert Hall
Turner Sims

Get the Data

If you're that way inclined, you can get the raw data used to create this page in various formats, as listed below.

TTLRDF/Turtle file
RDF.HTMLHTML visualisation of raw data

The following open datasets were used to build this page:

Events Diary