Open Data Service, University of Southampton

Open Data Service


Tuesday 11th October 2022, 8:00pm

Sara Bitlloch violin

Donald Grant violin
Simone van der Giessen viola
Marie Bitlloch cello

Haydn Quartet in F sharp minor, Op 50 No 4
Florence Price Quartet No 2 in A minor
Beethoven Quartet No 8 in E minor, Op 59 No 2 Rasumovsky

On 15 June 1933, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra performed a new piece by an unknown composer. The work had won first prize in a competition. The Chicago Daily News declared it ‘a faultless work, a work that speaks its own message with restraint and yet with passion… worthy of a place in the regular symphonic repertoire.’

The unknown composer was Florence Price. She was the first African American woman to have her music performed by a major symphony orchestra. Join us tonight as the Elias Quartet perform her Quartet No 2 as part of their programme.

The Elias Quartet begin with Haydn’s rarely heard quartet, one of a set of six written for the King of Prussia. The evening closes with Beethoven’s popular quartet, one of the set of three dedicated to Count Rasumovsky.

The Elias String Quartet is internationally renowned as one of the leading ensembles of their generation. Known for their intense and vibrant performances, the quartet has travelled the globe playing in the world’s great halls. The Elias Quartet were Turner Sims Associate Artists from 2012-15. They gave memorable cycles of the quartets of Beethoven and Schumann.

Playing of wonderful exuberance and fire. Guardian


Organised by:
Location:Turner Sims Concert Hall
Turner Sims

Get the Data

If you're that way inclined, you can get the raw data used to create this page in various formats, as listed below.

TTLRDF/Turtle file
RDF.HTMLHTML visualisation of raw data

The following open datasets were used to build this page:

Events Diary