Open Data Service, University of Southampton

Open Data Service


Friday 27th January 2023, 7:30pm

Fantasia in F, Z739
Fantasia in D minor, Z737
Chacony in G minor Z730
Britten Quartet No 2 in C, Op 36

Come into the centre of the string quartet and hear the music from a new perspective.

The Gildas Quartet‘s award-winning immersive project brings the experience of string quartet performance to audiences at close quarters. Each performance of the ‘Surround Sound Sessions’ brings a single great quartet work to listeners. You are invited to sit literally in ‘surround sound’ and experience the drama from the centre of the ensemble.

Britten wrote his magnificent 2nd Quartet to honour the 250th anniversary of Purcell’s death. Tonight’s hour-long concert first features his source of inspiration, the music of Purcell. The quartet explore Britten’s 2nd Quartet, deconstructing and demonstrating aspects of the music. A mesmerising complete performance of the piece ends the concert, with the audience surrounding the quartet.

Running time: 1 hour approx

Hatty Haynes violin
Gemma Sharples violin
Francesca Gilbert viola
Anna Menzies cello


Organised by:
Location:Turner Sims Concert Hall
Turner Sims

Get the Data

If you're that way inclined, you can get the raw data used to create this page in various formats, as listed below.

TTLRDF/Turtle file
RDF.HTMLHTML visualisation of raw data

The following open datasets were used to build this page:

Events Diary